The Day Time Stopped (My Story)

The Day Time Stopped (My Story)

Time stopped for me on January 30th, 2015. The day began just like any other day. We made it through the Christmas season without a glitch. My favorite Christmas present I received came from my son and his wife, when in their Christmas card they announced that they were pregnant. They had been trying for ten years. Had actually given up trying, then, surprise! We were overjoyed, to say the least.

To add to my excitement, my first book, “For Sanity’s Sake: Devotions for the Temporarily Insane, Otherwise Known as the Menopausal Woman,” was just released and I was expecting my copies any day. Life was good.

Around 5:00 P.M. I received a phone call from my daughter-in-law. “Carl’s work just called, he passed out at work and they are taking him to the hospital.” I told her I would meet her there. In a matter of minutes I joined her in the waiting room.

He’d been sick for quite a while, so we weren’t too surprised. He struggled with pneumonia for two months, a blood infection, and chest pains. He even had my husband take him to the hospital once because his chest pains were so bad. They ran an EKG and everything appeared normal. They wanted to run more tests, but, being the impatient person that he was, refused to stay. That was his biggest mistake!

There we were, Amanda (Carl’s wife’s name), myself, and my husband, sitting in the waiting room, and waiting, and waiting and waiting. The ambulance never came.

We started calling all the area hospitals to see if he was taken to a different hospital. We even started nervously making jokes, “Carl is the only person we know who can get lost in an ambulance.” Or, “knowing Carl, he probably woke up, ordered them to stop the ambulance, and got off.”

After about two hours, a man came and ushered us into a “back room” where we could wait in a “quiet place,” he said. My heart sank a little, my husband and I looked at each other, but still, the unthinkable was too unthinkable to think about.  After a few more hours, or maybe it just seemed like hours, a couple nurses, as well as two police officers walked in the room. They look at Amanda and said, “Your husband collapsed at work, I’m afraid he didn’t make it” (to be continued).

 

 

 

One thought on “The Day Time Stopped (My Story)

Leave a Reply

